<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[VPOP3 Spam Filters]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/fusionbb/showforum.php?fid/17/</link><description>Discussion of ways/tools for filtering spam from email</description><language>none</language><pubDate>Thu, 08 Dec 2011 12:15:20 GMT</pubDate><lastBuildDate>Thu, 08 Dec 2011 12:15:20 GMT</lastBuildDate><docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs><generator>FusionBB 3.1 Final (www.fusionbb.com)</generator><item><title><![CDATA[What Spam Filter]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15318</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15318</guid><description><![CDATA[ Hi, Our spam filter is up for renewal. We have been using mailscan which works well but I was considering using the vpop3 one.<br />
<br />
Is mailscan or the built in one better or are they similar for spam filtering?<br />
<br />
We now have an appliance at the gateway filtering viruses etc. ]]></description><pubDate>Thu, 08 Dec 2011 11:31:18 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Spam Filter bug or by design?]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15304</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15304</guid><description><![CDATA[ I have seen an increase in Spam recently so I have switched on the spam filter. I know that I don't have a subscription so it is using default settings, but this is not the problem.<br />
I now get a report email each day, but as I am overseas I am using webmail to review my emails. The problem is the link to review the 'spam' is using my internal network IP address to access the email. Therefore I can not see it.<br />
Is this a bug? or by design? or do I have a setting incorrect?<br />
<br />
Thanks for any advice.<br />
<br />
Simon<br />
4.0.0f and Firefox 9.0beta (if that helps)<br />
 ]]></description><pubDate>Sun, 20 Nov 2011 14:08:47 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Spam filter scripts update errors]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15301</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15301</guid><description><![CDATA[ I'm running VPOP3 Standard Version 4.0.0e (build 2572)<br />
<br />
For the last four days, I've found the following error message in my mailbox:<br />
<ul class='quote-head'><li><span class='quote-head-text'>Quote:</span></li></ul><div class='blockquote'> VPOP3 has been unable to successfully download an spam filter script update in the last 450 minutes. It has tried 2 times within that time.<br />
The last error received was:<br />
400 (Error Connecting to Site - 11002)<br />
<br />
</div><br />
Also, there have been no notices of successful update. From this, it seems that my spam filter scripts haven't been updated in almost a week.<br />
<br />
Is this likely to be DNS issues at my end, and if so can you give me name of the host from which VPOP3 would download updates so that I can use nslookup to help troubleshoot?<br />
<br />
TIA,<br />
<br />
Geoff ]]></description><pubDate>Wed, 26 Oct 2011 09:14:06 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[dnswl.org - False Reports]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15297</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15297</guid><description><![CDATA[ Over the last few days we have seen a dramatic increase in the number of SPAM messages being received. It would seem that the dnswl.org (-2 &amp; especially -3) seems to be the culprit, using VPOP3 default score (10 &amp; 100) it???s been whitelisting messages that would normally be identified as Spam. I have lowered the Spam filtering scores on the dnswl.org  entries in VPOP3 (4.0.0c) spam filter and the problem has gone away.<br />
<br />
Just curious, has anybody else seen the same problem?<br />
<br />
<br />
<br />
Example message<br />
<br />
X-VPOP3-SpamBayes: 100<br />
X-VPOP3DNS: 190.193.208.183:dnswl.org-3 <a href="http://www.matchforyou.ru" title="www.matchforyou.ru" target="_blank">www.matchforyou.ru</a>:surbl.org<br />
X-VPOP3-Spam: -265 - Adult(180.0) BadRecipient(5.0) bayes99(200.0)<br />
dnswl.org-3(-1000.0) ReverseDNSIsDynamic(180.0) SenderIsRecipient(50.0)<br />
ShortMessage(10.0) surbl.org(110.0)<br />
X-VPOP3-Spam2: added bayes ham<br />
<br />
 ]]></description><pubDate>Tue, 11 Oct 2011 08:32:36 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Legacy Spam Filter issue]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15295</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15295</guid><description><![CDATA[ Hello <br />
<br />
We have what this think may be legacy spam filter issue left over from a previous version of VPOP3 we upgrade from. We been living with it up till now but are now in a situation where we need to fix it.<br />
<br />
In a previous version of VPOP3 we were running (sorry I forget which version) the spam filter worked in such a way that it would filter all spam to a specified mailbox/user, we called this user 'spambox'.<br />
<br />
We then upgrade to our current version (VPOP3 Enterprise Version 4.0.0c build 2570) and the spam filter works differently now, with each user having their own quarantine facility.<br />
<br />
However some spam is still being filtered to the now non-existent 'spambox' account and we can nolonger find a setting for this which is why we suspect it may be something leftover from before we upgrade and can onlonger configure it in the current GUI. <br />
It also no longer follows the spam rules, so a whitelisted address will be let thought the new spamfilter but may still be picked up by the legacy setting and filtered to the now non-existent 'spambox' account.<br />
<br />
Thanks in advance for any assistance with this issue.<br />
<br />
 ]]></description><pubDate>Mon, 26 Sep 2011 15:19:41 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[White List specific Subject line]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15269</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15269</guid><description><![CDATA[ Is it possible to have anything that matches a specific line in text to be allowed through the spam trap.<br />
<br />
e.g.<br />
<br />
"Feedback request from"<br />
<br />
would be allowed through, irrespective if it had content that *may* appear spam?<br />
<br />
Thanks ]]></description><pubDate>Wed, 08 Jun 2011 12:07:18 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply headers]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15112</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15112</guid><description><![CDATA[ It has come to my attention that when users forward spam to <a href="mailto:spam@Domain.co.uk">spam@Domain.co.uk</a> the Vpop spam filter may be being confused as outlook inserts their footnote.<br />
(contact details with a bitmap and disclaimer)<br />
<br />
Some users report that this forwarding does not work, this may be why.<br />
<br />
I will send an email to them all to try to ensure they delete this footnote, or preferably use the web based tools.<br />
<br />
Could Vpop be given an two examples of each users footer (Text and HTML) so it can use this as a mask on any forwarded emails. ]]></description><pubDate>Wed, 07 Apr 2010 07:44:34 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Spamfilter error]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15099</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15099</guid><description><![CDATA[ "BulkScan item format error on line 519"<br />
<br />
What should I do with this, please?<br />
<br />
David ]]></description><pubDate>Fri, 05 Mar 2010 14:58:15 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Spam Filter ignoring whitelist]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15080</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15080</guid><description><![CDATA[ VPOP3 3.0, Spamfilter subscription, Avast, Incoming SMTP on W2K Server<br />
<br />
Emails from recipients that are on VPOP3's whitelist are being wrongly identified as Spam and quarantined as VPOP3 doesn't appear to be looking at our whitelist. <br />
<br />
Looking at the message headers I can't find an entry for the whitelist like there is in the example below. The other Spam scores seem fine e.g. blacklist <br />
<br />
X-VPOP3-SpamBayes: 0<br />
X-VPOP3-Spam: -680 - SuspiciousHTML(20) whitelist(-700)<br />
X-VPOP3-Spam2: added bayes ham<br />
X-EsetId: E2F5842561963630B8B5<br />
<br />
I have tried replacing the whitelist.txt file from as backup copy a month ago, but the problem is still there. I may try and reinstall VPOP3 and see if that solves the problem.<br />
<br />
Any advice or help greatly appreciated as having so many legitimate emails identified as spam is annoying. <br />
<br />
Thanks<br />
<br />
James ]]></description><pubDate>Fri, 20 Nov 2009 14:11:23 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Blocking specific addresses]]></title><link>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15039</link><guid isPermaLink='false'>http://discuss.pscs.co.uk/showtopic.php?tid/15039</guid><description><![CDATA[ A user gets loads of spam (50 - 100 / day) from her own domain e-mail address (info@domain.co.uk) - forwarding this to <a href="mailto:spam@domain.co.uk">spam@domain.co.uk</a> has not stopped them although there is no error message returned. This e-mail address is used to send mail to other users on the network so it can only be blocked to this user - any ideas why it isn't stopping them? ]]></description><pubDate>Thu, 23 Jul 2009 16:16:01 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>
